Return to Headlines

South Aiken High DECA Members Win Top Honors At State Competition

South Aiken High School DECA members continued their longtime tradition of success with numerous students winning state competition last weekend in Charleston and qualifying to attend the International Competition in Anaheim, California, this spring.  

All 26 South Aiken High students participating placed in the top five of their competitive events and 22 qualified to attend the International DECA Conference and Competition.

DECA is an international youth organization committed to preparing students in business and marketing. South Aiken DECA members participate in academic competitions, teambuilding, leadership conferences, work-based learning, professional development and community service activities at the local, state and national level. 

Students will now be raising funds to attend the international conference. Anyone who would like to provide financial support for South Aiken High DECA members may contact advisor Rob Lovejoy at 803-641-2600.

The list of South Aiken High student winners and their events include:

1st Place winners

Peyton Lynce, Emily Metzger and Kelsey Swarthout:  Learn and Earn Project

Clayton Smith and Elena Minolfo:  Retail Merchandising Research Project

Lydia Terlizzi and Sarah Grace Piercy:  Business Services Research Project

Caitlyn Fugate: Sports and Entertainment Marketing Research Project

Chris Sickenger:  Financial Consulting

Delta Pennington and Anna Shealy:  Fashion Merchandising Promotion Plan

Victoria Riddle:  Employment Acquisition

Alexis Harrington and Courtney Tarvin:  Advertising Campaign


2nd place winners

Sebastian O'Banion:  Professional Selling

Jordan Clendenen and Scout Faugl:  Sports and Entertainment Promotion Plan

Emily Seconi and Susie Reeves:  Business Law and Ethics Management Team

Alissa MCcIntosh and Emily Spacek:  Fashion Merchandising Promotion Plan


3rd Place winners

Lee-Ann Murphy:  Business Administration

Virgil Hart and Sumter Sessoms:  Entrepreneurship Innovation Plan

Kevin O’Flarety:  Start-up Business Plan


Honorable Mention

T’Mya Brown: Advertising Campaign



ACPSD Communications Department