Return to Headlines

Senior Scholars

Being named as a Senior Scholar has quickly become one of the most recognizable marks of distinction for Aiken County Public Schools seniors. Inclusion within the high-performing group signifies a student who has exhibited outstanding academic performance, and showed determination and a commitment to consistency over 15 consecutive academic reporting periods.

The 2018-19 school year marks the second year of the Senior Scholars program in Aiken County. Eighty-four graduating seniors qualified this year for the award, an increase of 15 students from the inaugural year. All District high schools with graduating seniors were represented among this year’s group of Senior Scholars.  

To qualify as a Senior Scholar, students must be ranked in the top 10 percent of their class, and have a minimum 3.8 grade point average (GPA). Students also must not have a grade lower than a B in all courses for 15 consecutive quarters of their high school career.

“These students have displayed not only an advanced academic capability, but also a commitment to a solid work ethic that will help carry them to success throughout their lives,” commented Mr. Alvin Pressley, who serves as Aiken County Public School District Executive Director of High Schools. “Celebrating academic achievement and excellence in our students is always a terrific experience, and we wish each 2019 Senior Scholar all the best in their future plans.”

Senior Scholars and their families were honored at a celebration dinner May 23 catered by the North Augusta High School Culinary Arts Program and teacher Rose Butler. The banquet was held at North Augusta’s Palmetto Terrace and featured Entertainment for the evening was provided by the Aiken High School Quartet, under the instruction of AHS Band Director Greg Priest.

Cadets of the South Aiken High School NJROTC “Buccaneers” presented the colors during the recognition banquet, while the National Anthem was performed by Wagener-Salley High School senior student Taylor-Lauren Adams. Guests were greeted by Aiken County Board of Education member Rosemary English (District 7), and the invocation was offered by Pastor Shane Williams of True North Church in North Augusta. Leah Padgett, a former Senior Scholar from Midland Valley High School’s graduating Class of 2018 and a current student at the University of South Carolina Aiken, served as the event’s keynote speaker.

The Senior Scholar recognition banquet was established to recognize high school seniors in Aiken County Public Schools for academic excellence. The banquet is a celebration honoring the academic achievement of our District-wide senior class.

Aiken County Public Schools Class of 2019 Senior Scholars include the following students:

(AIKEN HIGH SCHOOL) Kacie Abney, Madison Cothran, Samuel Crawford, Blake Durden, Jason Garrison, Charlton Hill, Jahleel Johnson, Jared Keklak, Brian Marra, Sabrina Skiff, Sabrina Stein, and Ashley Weaver; (MIDLAND VALLEY HIGH SCHOOL) Manuel Alvarado, Mallory Beard, Karson Harsey, Meagan O’Banion, Jonathan Robinson, and Lauren Shoup; (NORTH AUGUSTA HIGH SCHOOL) Dylan Aleman, Carson Allen, Maya Burns, Patrick Clark, Emily Davidson, Jasmine DeLong, Reagan Finnerty, Raven Flicek, Stephen Micheal Havasy, Jr., Taylor Hays, Alexandria Hoehn, Jonathan Lykins, Kathryn McGee, Anna Mercer, Isabella O’Neal, Bryson Parler, Abigail Rowell, Anna Rowell, Dolche’ Sanders, Matalyn Settele, Melanie Snider, Ashlynn Sweat, Matthew Van Der Linden, and Kristen Wahl; (RIDGE SPRING-MONETTA HIGH SCHOOL) Arturo Contreras, Alexis Gray, Jason Rodgers, and Austin Scott; (SOUTH AIKEN HIGH SCHOOL) Ethan Arnold, Noah Arnold, Julia Babineau, Connor Buchanan, Thomas Carroll, Cierra Carter, Ryan Conner, Eme de Graaf, Melanie Fischer, Victoria Gallardo, Kennedy Golden, Michaela Hall, Madilyn Hancock, Bryce Hopkins, Cooper Ivey, Daniel Kingery, Lee-Ann Murphy, Megan Musick, Chancellor Nguyen, Sarah Piercy, Matthew Reid, Holly Revell, Palmer Rowan, Nicholas Sanborn, Lydia Terlizzi, Madeline Whitaker, and Brianna Wilson; (SILVER BLUFF HIGH SCHOOL) Kelley Bowman, Corey Connelly, Robert Gilbert, Hannah Grove, Jamea Monroe, Savannah Vinson, and Dailyn Widener; (WAGENER-SALLEY HIGH SCHOOL) Macie Grantham, Destiny Johnson, Bryson Shealey and Taylor Love.


LINK TO DISTRICT PRESS RELEASE: 2019 PR District Honors Senior Scholars

ACPSD Communications Department