Battle of the Books

    The WSHS Battle of the Books mission is to improve reading and comprehension while building enthusiasm for reading.  Students will compete in teams to demonstrate their knowledge of seven preselected books.  

    • Sponsors: Ms. Loy and Mr. Roach
    • Open to all students
    • Meets once a month in the Library Media Center during S.O.A.R time.


    DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe. 

    • Sponsor: Ms. Key
    • Membership Dues (see Ms. Key)

    Drama Club

    • Sponsor: Ms.Sill
    • Open membership (no dues)

    FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes)

    FCA is a Christian sports ministry that wishes to see the world impacted for Jesus Christ through the influence of coaches and athletes.  

    • Sponsor: Coach Erskine
    • Open to all students - you do not have to be an athlete


    • Sponsors: Mr. Busbee
    • Open to all students currently enrolled in an Agriculture Class and those who were enrolled in an Agriculture Class last year.

    JROTC Drill & Rifle Teams

    • Sponsors: Major Nixon and Sergeant First Class Watford 
    • Open to Cadets designated by Major Nixon and Sergeant First Class Wadford  

    Modern Languages Club 

    The mission of the Modern Language (M.L.) Club is to promote the Spanish language and culture through music, games, and dance.  

    • Sponsors: Mrs. DaCosta
    • Open membership - no dues 

    National Honor Society

    • Sponsor: TBA
    • Students must be in grades 10-12; have been at WSHS for at least one semester; have AT LEAST an average of 85 for all classes; must NOT have any discipline issues; be nominated by the faculty council; and be evaluated for service, leadership and character. See Mrs. Williams if you feel you qualify for the NHS.

    National Art Honor Society

    • Sponsor: Mrs. Shackleford
    • Students must currently be enrolled or have successfully passed a high school art class with an "A".  Membership fee required.

    National Technical Honor Society

    • Sponsor: Mrs. Williams and Mrs. Stroman
    • Membership is based on academic success & enrollment in CATE courses.

    Peer Mediation

    • Sponsors: Ms. Ryans 
    • This group meets to train students on conflict resolution strategies and communication skills.  The goal is to train peer mediators who can learn to honor differences, cooperate, and create solutions that meet the needs of everyone involved. 
    • Open to all students.
    • Meetings will be held on certain Club Days. 
    • Meeting dates are posted and announced via REMIND.   

    Prom Committee

    This committee meets to decide upon the date, location and theme of the yearly prom.  The committee promotes and may also fundraise for the prom.  Committee members are also asked to assist with decorating and cleaning up the venue.

    • Sponsor: Mrs. Stroman
    • Membership: open to Juniors at the end of sophomore year.

    Friendship Club

    The mission of the Friendship Club is to develop a lifelong healthy relationship for students with special needs by partnering them with general education students.  Members typically participate in the Special Olympics, Perfect Prom, and other activities with their  partners.

    • Sponsor: Mr. Levai & Ms. Psirmoi
    • Membership is based on the application process and acceptance. 

    Student Council

    Our Student Council is committed to bettering the high school experience. Our student leaders are dedicated to increasing student involvement, fostering an inclusive school atmosphere and promoting school unity.

    • Sponsor: Mrs. Stroman and Mrs. Williams
    • Membership selected by the student body

    WE Codebreakers

    Open to all students interested in Computer Science, Coding, Cyber Security, and all things computer related.

    • Sponsor: Ms. Bauers 

    Updated: 12 September 2024