Celebrating Your Support

  • Construction Shovels

    In November 2014, Aiken County citizens voted in support of the Education Capital Improvements Sales and Use Tax to address facility construction of Aiken County’s schools. This additional 1% sales tax took effect on March 1, 2015 and will benefit five designated and voter approved projects, including Aiken High School, North Augusta High School, Leavelle McCampbell Middle School, Ridge Spring-Monetta's K-12 Campus and, as funding is available, updates to Aiken County's renowned Career & Technology Center.

    The District utilized conservative sales tax projections provided by the South Carolina Revenue & Fiscal Affairs Office for planning purposes and as required by the enabling legislation.  The Revenue & Fiscal Affairs Office projected $188,639,040 over the life of the ten year, 120-month collection period. 

    Collections are trending stronger than projected.

    “The trust that was given to the school district required a tremendous amount of faith; we’re going to do the best we can to be good stewards of that trust,” Aiken County's Superintendent Dr. Sean Alford promises.

    Information posted here is just one way that our District communicates its gratitude to the community and keeps stakeholders updated on the Progress of the Penny.


Penny Tax Facts

  • Approved: November 4, 2014

    Amount: 1% sales tax on eligible items

    Use: 10% used for property tax relief + 90% five projects

    Start Date: Commenced March 1, 2015

    Duration: Continues ten years & does not automatically renew

    Option: Bond Issuance up to $125 million

    Anticipated Total Funding: $188,639,040 

    Option: Bond Issuance up to $125 million to jump start the project




    5 construction projects identified on the ballot:

    Aiken High School

    North Augusta High School

    Leavelle McCampbell Middle School

    Ridge Spring-Monetta K-12 Campus

    Aiken County Career & Technology Center

Oversight Committee

  • To garner and ensure the public's trust in their additional investment in public school facilities, Aiken County's School Board nominated community members to oversee sales tax revenue and expenditures. The Oversight Committee includes the following:

    Community Chair: Moses Mims

    Vice Chair of the Board of Education: Mr. Levi Green

    Sara Johnson 

    Louis McCarty         

    Danny Raines

    Kurt Roberts          

    Ahmed Samaha             

    Karen Skiff

    Jeffrey Thomas


Collections To Date


  • We are grateful for your support of our public school facilities! Please don't hesitate to send us any questions. We'll be happy to answer them!

    Send Penny Tax Questions to Aiken County Public Schools' Director of Communications Merry Glenne Piccolino, mpiccolino@acpsd.net.